View Full Version : navigation system user-survey
nikatnott
09-29-2006, 10:59 AM
I am a post graduate researcher at the University of Nottingham in the UK. This questionnaire forms part of a wider study into driver behaviour conducted by myself and my colleagues.
If you use any type of in-vehicle navigation system, I would appreciate it if you could follow the link below and answer a short questionnaire regarding navigation system user behaviour and preferences.
http://www.mrl.nott.ac.uk/~nlf
The questionnaire is very short (it should only take 5 to 10 minutes to complete). Research in this area is only in its infancy, and there are many gaps in the current literature, it is hoped this questionnaire will be a start in filling some of these gaps.
Once the results have been analysed, I will provide a link from this forum to a results summary so that interested participants may have a look. Alternatively, please email me at nlf@cs.nott.ac.uk and I will provide them to you by email.
Many thanks
Nick Forbes
Postgraduate researcher
University of Nottingham
KarenSews2
09-29-2006, 11:36 AM
I'm thinking this is an inappropriate post.
ponytail
09-29-2006, 11:45 AM
Given its techno subject matter, maybe it should be in the Geeks section. It does seem a bit Spammy, though, doesn't it?
Agnes
09-29-2006, 11:51 AM
Yeah, quite. Screen name doesn't seem "postgraduate" either. Did either of you report the post to John?
KarenSews2
09-29-2006, 12:08 PM
Yes, I did.
At least I think I did. I sent a message using that triangle thingy on the top corner of the post. Does that get to John?
Agnes
09-29-2006, 01:37 PM
It should, Karen, thanks :)
DaveM
09-29-2006, 02:05 PM
I wonder if he's from Nigeria?
John L
09-29-2006, 06:41 PM
If he is actually spamming, I can't figure out (Yet) how he's benefitting from this...the URLs all point legitimately to websites at The University of Notingham (Home of the "Made Marions...")
He doesn't fit the profile of a spammer, in that he blazed an 18 lane highway for me to track him down...The survey is hosted at another site (http://www.executivetests.co.uk) but again, no advertising there, no nasty scripts...nothing.
He was also good enough to post it in the "Anything goes" Zoo...avoiding my ire had he posted it in the main forum.
So, maybe he actually finds the subject matter interesting, or he is working on AI for GPS in cars (I personally use a GPS and Microsoft Mappoint...it is teh suck...could use some serious improvement)
It's of marginal interest to the Geeks amongst us, and non offensive. I'll let it stand, but I have moved it to the Geek forum.
I do have to say that posting an e-mail address in clear right into any forum (or any public web page, for that matter) is a good way to get the giant economy does of spam in your mailbox, but surely a Computer Science major knows that...
If not, the next subject of research could be "Potential Spam Vectors and the possibility of buying V!A-GRAA online"
But thanks for reporting it. If in question, reporting the post does go back to me, and I do check stuff like this out...I realize that we are all more than a little concerned about potential spammers, but I will let Nick go this time. If it becomes a habit, of course I'll revisit.
I wonder if news of our Goofy Rudie Bus Drivers has spread beyond these hallowed halls?:confused:
sister rose
09-30-2006, 01:21 AM
I wonder if news of our Goofy Rudie Bus Drivers has spread beyond these hallowed halls?:confused:
I have no idea what (who) you could be talking about.....:rolleyes:
MadMusician
09-30-2006, 09:58 AM
I wonder if he's from Nigeria?
hahaha!
I wonder how people (spammers) choose a website to post to? When it's not a bot...
aabram
09-30-2006, 10:48 AM
those things don't work FULL STOP.... or how to navigate yourself over a cliff, or into a four foot........ puddle, or stop dead centre on a Railway Crossing........ so, nikatnott go and annoy them on PeTA2. I'm sure they'll appreciate the extra protein... :D And while you're at it, take the scenic route from Edinburgh to Glasgow via Truro, why don't you......... courteously provided by your lovely new Electronic Navigation System!!!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
DaveM
10-01-2006, 05:21 PM
My guess is that it is a bot. Just now I have one offering me any number of "opportunities", said opportunities being offered because a certain person has allegedly resigned his position. Won't mention the name for fear of attracting "them" to this board.
aabram
10-04-2006, 09:05 AM
Well he hasn't come back to post his thanks for all our bright ideas, John, and I don't think he's going to.... I think SPAM .......and .............. do you see what I see, the Avatar I was talking about.....:) :) :) ??????????????
DaveM
10-11-2006, 11:11 PM
Salutes the avatar. Just one question.....who's that grey-haired old lady?
(ducks)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.