paularoid
07-29-2010, 03:55 AM
Beware of Fake Update Page (http://ffextensionguru.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/beware-of-fake-update-page/)
http://ffextensionguru.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/beware-of-fake-update-page/
from Firefox Extension Guru's Blog by El Guru
Recently there has been a fake Firefox update page (see below) has been floating around the web. This page not only tells the user they are running an out-dated version of Firefox, but that they need to update Adobe Flash Player as well. There is a link to “update” Adobe Flash Player but this is actually a malicious link:
The download starts automatically. Save and run it and you get a rogue antivirus product named “SecurityTool” which starts finding threats which aren’t there and demanding payment in order to remove them.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m195/ffextensionguru/fake-ffupdate-thumb-450x361-13880.png
With the recent increase in Firefox updates (especially for Firefox 3.6) it is easy for users to get mislead into thinking there is a new update. Some tips to protect yourself against fake update notices:
* Update notifications are normally delivered via a pop-up window not a web page
* Use the Check For Updates… feature under the Help Menu if you are unsure about an ‘update notice’. If there is an update available you will get the pop-up window as described above.
* Mozilla has an official site where you can check to make sure your plugins (such as Flash Player) are up to date: www.mozilla.com/plugincheck The browser normally does not alert you to out-dated plugins.
* Current release information is posted on the main site (ffextensionguru.com) and is usually update within a few hours of the new releases. We always post a blog entry for any new releases (including the current developmental version). Also we publish a weekly Release Recap every Saturday morning.
Thanks to Gareon for posting this alert at Go Firefox! (http://ffextensionguru.com/gofirefox.html)
Source: PC Magazine (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2367084,00.asp)
http://ffextensionguru.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/beware-of-fake-update-page/
from Firefox Extension Guru's Blog by El Guru
Recently there has been a fake Firefox update page (see below) has been floating around the web. This page not only tells the user they are running an out-dated version of Firefox, but that they need to update Adobe Flash Player as well. There is a link to “update” Adobe Flash Player but this is actually a malicious link:
The download starts automatically. Save and run it and you get a rogue antivirus product named “SecurityTool” which starts finding threats which aren’t there and demanding payment in order to remove them.
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m195/ffextensionguru/fake-ffupdate-thumb-450x361-13880.png
With the recent increase in Firefox updates (especially for Firefox 3.6) it is easy for users to get mislead into thinking there is a new update. Some tips to protect yourself against fake update notices:
* Update notifications are normally delivered via a pop-up window not a web page
* Use the Check For Updates… feature under the Help Menu if you are unsure about an ‘update notice’. If there is an update available you will get the pop-up window as described above.
* Mozilla has an official site where you can check to make sure your plugins (such as Flash Player) are up to date: www.mozilla.com/plugincheck The browser normally does not alert you to out-dated plugins.
* Current release information is posted on the main site (ffextensionguru.com) and is usually update within a few hours of the new releases. We always post a blog entry for any new releases (including the current developmental version). Also we publish a weekly Release Recap every Saturday morning.
Thanks to Gareon for posting this alert at Go Firefox! (http://ffextensionguru.com/gofirefox.html)
Source: PC Magazine (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2367084,00.asp)